25 March 2008

Sub-Regional Associations w/in MENACA

Within the larger MENACA super-region, there are several strong and emergent sub-regions, for instance, the GCC or Gulf Cooperation Council, and the Arab Maghreb Union. The GCC includes Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Bahrain, UAE, and Saudi Arabia, and is relatively unified on issues of common concern... The Arab Maghreb Union is, on the other hand, more buffeted by unfortunate neighborly rivalries, including Libya vs Mauritania, Morocco vs Algeria, etc. The AMU includes Morocco, Mauritania, Algeria, Tunisia, and Libya. Egypt has applied to join... These sub-regional groupings are compelling as they focus attention on local cross-border issues. I wonder whether it's time for a similar initiative to cover the area of the vital Levant...

No comments: